Minecraft Data for Science

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by aftersox, Apr 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

aftersox

I'm a PhD student studying organizations and networks. Lately I've been interested in groups and leadership in virtual worlds.

I'm looking for data from CoreProtect, LogBlock, or Prism (or some other player logging plugin). Also if you use Towny, Factions, or some other group-based plugin, that would be useful to know as well.

Using this data I can construct a social network from players that share resources, work on the same projects, kill common enemies, etc. The detail and temporal aspects of this data are very seldom seen in my field, and it has the potential to answer some difficult questions. For instance: is leadership contagious? How does resource distribution affect group success? How does group integration affect turnover?

I want to find some server owners who are willing to grant me their log data. To protect the anonymity of your players, the data should be cleansed of usernames and chat content. The IRB (ethic board) at my university will only allow me to collect this data if it cleansed this way.

If you use common plugins then I can help write a SQL or other script to cleanse it for you. All you would have to do is run it and send me the results. For instance if you use Prism (I like Prism) this SQL snippet would copy data to a new table (ignoring non-player data), then it would recode all player names to a consistent ID. After it runs you would export the cleansed table, and send it to an FTP server I have. There wouldn't be much for you to do, except this process may take a very long time to run (read. hours) if you have a lot of data.