Make a per player based boolean?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Qwahchees, Feb 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Qwahchees

Hey guys

I wanted to create a boolean that is only accessible per player. Currently I have a regular boolean and when triggered by an event, goes to true. Problem is, everyone on the server gets the true, I only want the player who triggered it to get the "true".

How would I do this?

2. Offline

Tirelessly

In order of efficiency/sense:
    Store their names in a set.
    Store their names in a list.
    Store them in a hashmap<string, boolean>.
    Make a custom player wrapper object.

3. Offline

Jeebiss

Im no expert, but a couple ideas.

1 - Have a seperate instance of the class for each player needed the boolean.
    2 - Keep a map<String, Boolean> to keep track. So you could do if (map.getValue(PlayerName)) .

4. Offline

danslayerx

Edit: Already beaten to it.

HashMap.

HashMap<String, Boolean> PlayerBoolean = new HashMap<String, Boolean>();

then...

PlayerBoolean.put(player.getName(), true/false);

5. Offline

Qwahchees

Ha, alright lemme try to do it. I'm not sure how :$

6. Offline

ZeusAllMighty11

danslayerx

Just for general housekeeping variables are like helloWorld not HelloWorld, which implies it's a class/object etc

7. Offline

Qwahchees

Alright, how do I return the value? I have the HashMap setup (new to this) but now I need to check if the player's data is true or false

8. Offline

Rprrr

Code:
    Boolean someBoolean = yourHashMap.get(player.getName());

9. It would be easier to use a Set<String>:
    Code:
    Set<String> playerStuff = new HashSet<String>();

playerStuff.add(player.getName()); // set to "true"

boolean playerHasStuff = playerStuff.contains(player.getName());

playerStuff.remove(player.getName()); // set to "false"