How to detect when server receives packet

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by bys1, Apr 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. How can I detect when a server receives a packet from a player using NMS?
    I want to make a packet listener with NMS which detects when the server receives a PacketPlayInSettings packet from a player. I've been searching for tutorials or topics with similar questions but I couldn't find anything.

What I'm searching for: I want someone to link me a good tutorial or explain me how it works. I'd like to have a code example or at least with methods/classes to use with explanation on how it works.
    Please do not link me a github class which can detect Packets because it might work but I won't understand the code at all.

2. I'm no expert at this, but you need ProtocolLib for this. There are many easy to find tutorials for it so I won't link you to it.

3. I don't need and I don't want ProtocolLib. ProtocolLib is a plugin/API which means there is a way to do it without ProtocolLib. I have been searching for hours and I haven't found a way to do it without ProtocolLib.

4. Offline

frej4189

Why don't you? There's no need to reprogram something that has already been done.
    The only reason you would ever have to not use API's is if you're practicing, but if you're actually working on a project, go ahead, it's not embarrassing to use other peoples code.

5. I want to do some practicing with it indeed and later I want to implement it in a project. The reason I don't want to use ProtocolLib is because I don't want to depend on it. I want to have my projects/plugins not depend on any other api or plugin made by me.

6. Offline

Zombie_Striker

@bys1