Plugin Help Can Someone Teach me to Code Plugins?

Discussion in 'Plugin Help/Development/Requests' started by Ildigrub, Apr 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Ildigrub

I have a great idea for a plugin, I'm pretty sure its possible, but I have very little knowledge of coding. I can write a hello world script in java, C++, and python, and that's about it. I am not posting what my plugin idea is here due to the fact that it would probably be stolen. I'm hoping someone can teach me for free or link me to a good guide. I can use Skype, but not voice or video chat with strangers. I'm not entirely a stranger to computers, so I most likely won't need walkthroughs on installing programs (i.e. eclipse, JDK [both of which I already have, just examples], etc.)

P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong section.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2015
  2. Offline

BizarrePlatinum

@Ildigrub you'll need to know more java than that, a lot more. Bukkit is coded in Java, so before you learn bukkit, look up a few tutorials on the basics of Java before you attempt to write a plugin.

3. Offline

Ildigrub

Ok. Thanks

4. Offline

pie_flavor

@Ildigrub Learn Java. Simple as that. There are some hundreds of tutorials on the web. Learn it using something you enjoy - games, maybe, or maybe generators - I don't know. However, do not attempt to learn it based on one specific API, like Bukkit. A couple of specific topics that aren't taught in the average scrub tutorial are threads, file loading / reading, and event busses. These will be helpful in Bukkit.

5. Offline

Ildigrub

hey s there a way to delet a thread? I accidentally posted this one twice lol my internet conection is bad

anyone got any learning programs they recommend? I wasn't able to find any decent ones.

<Edited by bwfcwalshy: Merged posts, please use the edit button rather than double posting.>

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 17, 2015
  6. Offline

platyperson