Bukkit - DMCA What's going on.

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by Nateb1121, Sep 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Nateb1121

So, I'm sure many of you have seen the DMCA take down notice on dl.bukkit.org, this post will serve as a quick tl;dr for a lot of people, I hope.

What's going on is Wolf isn't trying to piss Bukkit off, really Wolf is drawing attention to the situation and trying to get some word from Mojang, it seems. Wolfs licence says to use my software you need to have your code open, and by code he literally means all of it, including Mojangs.

In order for Mojang to update Bukkit like they want they can do two things.
    1) Release the MineCraft server code as per Wolf's licence
    2) Rewrite all of the code Wolf has committed

Wolf is attempting to get Mojang to "open up a bit", not trying to ruin Bukkit.

Granted, I'm not a lawyer and I'm not an expert on this manner. I'm not sure if Wold retains copyright ownership over the code or if Bukkit does since he pushed it to the repo.

Wolf is playing a strategy game with Mojang, using the very legal channels that Mojang could use against us. Well played.

It's unfortunate though because there seems to be a lot of leaglize that will fly around regarding who's right and who's wrong. This is worth a read: http://www.reddit.com/r/Minecraft/comments/2fdts0/gpl_you_keep_using_that_word_i_do_not_think_it/

2. Offline

Mayor_Mike

Finally someone who answers this in an unbiased way. 5 stars to you.

pookeythekid likes this.
  3. Offline

Alshain01

I call bull. His move doesn't really hurt Mojang at all and probably won't encourage them to open up anything. They could go on without Bukkit. It only hurts this community. As far as I'm concerned he is a traitor to this community and the project.

No, either he is a complete idiot to not see what would happen (which I doubt) or he is intentionally trying to kill it, which is a betrayal.

Blkscorpion2 likes this.